One-Minute Food & Wine Pairings

31 May

Last night, I surprised my husband by saying that “cocktails” would be served at 6 p.m.   As this is not our usual practice, it brought some unexpected anticipation.  I totally forgot what I had promised and at the stroke of 6, Michael said, “Oh, I thought we had something planned.”   “Oh yes” I said, and quickly scampered to the kitchen.  In one-minute flat, I prepared a feast!  I opened the jar of taramasalata I had sequestered in the fridge, dug out the last five large caperberries from an almost-empty container, sliced a hunk of feta cheese and plucked fresh thyme leaves from my window box.  With it I served glasses of icy cold fino sherry.  It was the PERFECT match!   So here are 15 more ideas for those spontaneous, companion-pleasing times — or, for unexpected guests.  If you have made any similar discoveries, please do let me know!

Here are some one-minute sips and bits:

Champagne with hunks of Parmigiano-Reggiano and small black grapes
Sake with iced clams on the half shell and wasabi crackers
Vodka with smoked salmon and buttered dark Russian bread
Ouzo with stuffed grapes leaves and pistachios
Raki with watermelon and feta cheese
Off-dry Riesling with prosciutto and melon
Rose wine with spanakopita and kalamata olives
Beaujolais with hungarian salami and oil-cured olives
Sweet vermouth with bresaola and sesame grissini
Bourbon with a variety of chilled oysters and unsalted pretzels (my husband’s idea)
Dry marsala with fennel, pecorino, crusty bread for dipping olive oil
Prosecco with affettato (selection of Italian salumi) with slices of warm focaccia
Sauternes with pâté de foie gras and brioche toast

Cheers!

One Response to “One-Minute Food & Wine Pairings”

  1. Carol Berman May 31, 2011 at 10:27 am #

    Fino sherry with green olives and almonds
    Brachetto d’Acqui with bitter-sweet chocolate (at least 85% cacao)
    Verdicchio with oysters

Leave a comment