A Heart-Shaped Meatloaf

5 Jan

As promised, a favorite meatloaf recipe.

A slice of "heart-shaped" meatloaf

For her entire life, my mother made meatloaf in the shape of a heart.  I still do.   The winning ratio is 2:1 — two pounds beef to 1 pound onions.  But the real secret is the inclusion of ice water, and sometimes an ice cube or two, to keep the meat very juicy and moist.    As a teen I had the surprise (or disappointment) of my life when I sat down to a meal in the shape of a…loaf. Apparently my parents had a fight and my mother had no intention of using those romantic hands of hers that day to shape the familiar mixture into a big red heart (which she glazed with a bit of ketchup.)  It only happened once, but I never forgot it.  My first experience with a meat loaf, instead of a heart, still looms large.  In her day, my mother used ground sirloin and 4-C seasoned breadcrumbs.  Today, I use a combination of sirloin and chuck (for flavor and increased fat content) and add panko.  I also roast halved plum tomatoes alongside the “heart” and then pile them on top before serving.   It is very delicious and quite sensuous to sculpt with your hands.

Heart-Shaped Meatloaf with Charred Tomatoes

2 pounds ground beef (a combination of sirloin and chuck)
1 pound onions, finely chopped
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
1/2 cup panko or dried breadcrumbs
2 tablespoons Dijon mustard
6 tablespoons ketchup
2 teaspoons sriracha
1 clove garlic
1 egg yolk
1 tablespoon best-quality dried oregano
6 ripe medium plum tomatoes, halved lengthwise
¼ cup freshly-chopped chives

Preheat oven to 375.  Put ground meat in a large bowl.  Melt butter in very large skillet.  Add onions and ½ teaspoon salt; cook 15 minutes until dark brown; add to bowl.  Add panko, mustard, 2 tablespoons ketchup, sriracha, garlic, pushed through a press, oregano, and ½ teaspoon salt.  Add egg yolk and 1/2 cup ice water and mix well with your hands.  Place on rimmed baking sheet; form into a large heart shape.  Cover with thin layer of remaining ketchup.  Place halved tomatoes, cut side up, around edge of pan; sprinkle with salt.  Bake 45 minutes.  Turn tomatoes over, arrange on heart and drizzle with pan juices. Sprinkle with chives.  Serves 4

3 Responses to “A Heart-Shaped Meatloaf”

  1. Simone January 5, 2011 at 7:46 pm #

    Rozanne-I have 2 ques about your meatloaf recipe. First, I have a 3 lb. pkg of ground beef that I’d like to use for this recipe. Which ingredients do I need to increase? For example, should I add another egg yolk &/or more bread crumbs (& how much)? Second, I don’t have any oregano on hand but I do have other herbs-specifically tarragon & sage. Would either (or both) of these herbs go well w/ this recipe? Thanks a lot &, as always, I really enjoyed your post!

    • rozannegold January 7, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

      Dear Simone: Sorry for the delay. With 3 lbs. of
      meat you are increasing the recipe by 50%. Add half
      the amount of the other ingredients and only 1 egg
      yolk. You could use half the amount of tarragon or
      substitute dried basil. Dried sage is a bit too strong.
      Best,
      Rozanne

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tastes of the Week and Valentine’s Day « Rozanne Gold - February 14, 2012

    [...] a radically elegant Filet of Beef with Wasabi Cream (recipe below from Radically Simple) or my heart-shaped meatloaf from Little Meals. Share the love.  A St. Amour beaujolais would be a nice wine to drink.  And of [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 15,402 other followers

